die Geschichte des Cafe Wildau am Werbellinsee

Our establishment

        The history of Café Wildau

Café Wildau has had an eventful history. Many of the stones used for building this popular historical establishment had previously lain on the sandy bed of Lake Werbellin for decades.

At the beginning of the 19th century, chalky soil was extracted in this region and mixed with marl from Lake Werbellin to make cement. The little ponds to the left of the driveway leading up to Café Wildau are historical remains from this period. The original industrialist’s villa on this spot was built by a cement manufacturer by the name of Bernoulli. However, when the clay deposits ran out in 1894, the factory closed down.

In the same year, the house was purchased by Kaiser Wilhelm II owing to its wonderful position on the shores of Lake Werbellin. From then on, it was used as a guest house for the nearby imperial hunting lodge Hubertusstock, and from 1918 onwards as a forestry management facility.

After the Second World War, the building was converted into “Café Wildau”, thus becoming a popular, tradition-steeped eating place for countless day-trippers from Berlin and Brandenburg.

However, the establishment was closed down by the East German authorities in 1974. In 1981, one week before West Germany’s former chancellor Helmut Schmidt was due to make a state visit to Schloss Hubertusstock, the building was demolished, having fallen into disrepair.

In 2006, the von Hertzberg family purchased the land on which Café Wildau had formerly stood and decided to rebuild it. Following a two-year planning phase and one-year building phase, Café Wildau was reopened on 1 July 2009.

Café Wildau
Hotel & Restaurant
on Lake Werbellin

Wildau 19
OT Eichhorst
D-16244 Schorfheide

info@cafe-wildau.de
Phone: 033363 / 52 63 0
Fax: 033363 / 52 63 29

Opening hours restaurant:
Mondays to Sundays:
6 pm to 8.30 pm

Closed dates

Hotel reception:
8 am to 6 pm

How to find us!

Home   Kontakt   Impressum   AGBs
die Geschichte des Cafe Wildau am Werbellinsee

Unser Haus

        Historie des Café Wildau

Dem Café Wildau liegt eine bewegte Geschichte zugrunde – und das im wörtlichen Sinne. Denn ein Großteil der Steine des beliebten, historischen Hauses ruhte jahrzehntelang auf dem sandigen Grund des Werbellinsees.
Zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhundert wurde in dieser Region Wiesenkalk abgebaut und mit Mergel aus dem Werbellinsee zu Zement verarbeitet. Die kleinen Teiche links der Zufahrt zum Café Wildau sind historische Überreste aus dieser Zeit. Der Erbauer der damaligen Fabrikantenvilla war ein Zementfabrikant namens Bernoulli. Als jedoch die Tonvorkommen versiegten, stellte die Fabrik 1894 ihren Betrieb ein.

Noch im selben Jahr kaufte Kaiser Wilhelm II das Haus aufgrund seiner schönen Lage am Werbellinsee. Fortan diente es als Gästehaus des nahe gelegenen kaiserlichen Jagdschlosses Hubertusstock, seit 1918 dann als Forstverwaltung.

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das Haus zum „Café Wildau“ und damit zu einem beliebten und bald schon traditionsreichen Ausflugslokal für zahllose Berliner und Brandenburger.

Die DDR-Behörden veranlassten jedoch 1974 die Schließung des Hauses. Eine Woche vor dem Staatsbesuch des Altbundeskanzlers der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Helmut Schmidt, auf Schloss Hubertusstock ließ man das mittlerweile unansehnliche Gebäude 1981 abreißen.

2006 erwarb die Familie von Hertzberg Grund und Boden des alten Café Wildau und nahm sich der Wiedererrichtung an. Nach zweijähriger Planungs- und einjähriger Bauphase feierte das Café Wildau am 1. Juli 2009 seine Wiedereröffnung.

Café Wildau
Hotel & Restaurant
am Werbellinsee

Wildau 19
OT Eichhorst
D-16244 Schorfheide

info@cafe-wildau.de
Tel.: 033363 / 52 63 0
Fax: 033363 / 52 63 29

Öffnungszeiten:
Mittwoch bis Sonntag
12:00 Uhr bis 20:30

Geschlossene
Veranstaltungen

So finden Sie uns!